Website: News

We had a period today when the website went down for an hour. We are sorry if you were affected.

The details are too tedious to relate, think of it as bubble gum in the clockwork or something like that. If it happens again then I trust you will be patient.

Closing Ceremony of the Season of Creation

4:00pm BST Monday 4th October 2021

A home and a hope for the future

United Nations Youth Ambassador Amanda Costa will lead the 2021 Season of Creation closing ceremony in which we’ll celebrate the season and push forward in our effort to care for God’s creation with hope. 

As Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said years ago, “Today our very survival depends on our ability to stay awake, to adjust to new ideas, to remain vigilant and to face the challenge of change.”

Watch on YouTube

Click on the image to see the video

When: Monday 4 October. 16:00 London / 11:00 New York / 17:00 Rome / 18:00 Nairobi / 23:00 Manila

Lectio Divina: Fr Michael SJ

Our Lectio Group have shared this sad news with us.

Dear friends

Probably most of you will have fond memories of Fr. Michael who attended Lectio when he lived in the Jesuit Community at St. Wilfrid’s. In those days lectio was held at OLSE and then at Xaverians.

Sadly, St. Wilfrid’s have announced that Fr. Michael passed away on Friday 24th Sept.

I remember him saying that he offered his sufferings for the Holy Souls. No doubt they are all looking after him now.

May he rest in peace.

PRAYER TO THE HOLY SPIRIT BY ST HILDEGARD OF BINGEN

Fire of the Spirit, life of the lives of creatures,
spiral of sanctity, bond of all natures,
glow of charity, lights of clarity, taste
of sweetness to sinners, be with us and hear us.
Composer of all things, light of all the risen,
key of salvation, release from the dark prison,
hope of all unions, scope of chastities, joy
in the glory, strong honour, be with us and hear us.
Amen.

Lectio Divina: News

Our Lectio group have been considering the Gospel for the 27th Sunday in Ordinary Time Year B.

Mk 10:2-16; or shorter Mk 10:2-12

What God has united, man must not divide.

Have a look at the ideas they have shared with us here.

Lectio Divina: News

Our Lectio Group has been considering the reading for the 26th Sunday.

Mk 9: 38-43, 45, 47-48 Anyone who is not against us is for us. If your hand should cause you to sin, cut it off.

As always some of the group have generously shared their thoughts with us. Read what they have to say here.

Do we care about God’s Creation?

Climate change is an issue of social justice, an issue we ignore at our peril.

Pope Francis encourages the Christian community to celebrate the Season of Creation. Following his lead, we are holding a virtual event on Zoom on Tuesday 28th September 2021 from 7pm – 8:30pm. You are invited to take part and contribute your thoughts.

Please join us.  To get the joining instructions please contact us by using the contact form on our Enquiry page.

You can find out more about the Season of Creation here.